The Spy.

Today was the much-awaited resumption of one of our more interesting classes. 

We had an activity pending, and activity which was all but a year ago. But the waiy was finally over. 

Again, taon lang nagbabago, hindi tao. I was still late for the 9am class, that was even though I had set the alarm three hours before the class, but lo and behold, I was still behind by as much as 20 minutes. 

So I come in, my professor discussing the activity we’re about to do later. I felt lucky to come just in the nick of time. Had I entered the room by as much as five minutes later, I think I wouldn’t have got to do my best role yet: A spy.

Double-O-seven, x44, Charlie’s Angels. Wow, I feel I’m lined-up with the greats.

So it was a ‘sprint’ game, in which we had to accomplish tasks in making paper boats, paper hats and paper planes.

All the accomplished “orders” constitute to a score, tabulated and recorded after the activity. Every group has to assign three key persons: A strategist, a Secretary, and a Spy. 

Initially I wanted to be part of production, but I guess being clumsy with my hands as well as having damp palms when pressured wouldn’t help mine or the group’s cause. So I was assigned as the Spy. (Honestly I think the decision was borne out of the group’s reluctance to have me. Chos )

I oversaw another group and our primary task as spies is to see whether they deliver the orders on time and with quality. I allowed some leeway for the opposing group but in the end, the inner spy in me led to the discovery of some lapses in their part. I think they had it coming, they were fast in production but the quality of the final output was sacrificed.

I guess that was one of the lessons of the activity. We must learn how to manage the tasks at hand, maximize our resources and people, as well as plam amd strategize first before materializing a project. 

It is also important to consider the output and the client. Small tasks and activities like these are a stepping for us future media practitioners as well as corporate personnel to deliver what is expexted of us. Maybe even more. 

B-log: 2017-0007-OTM

Blog Entry #9 for 2017                                       Subject: January 7, 2017 

Time Stamp: 1/8/2016 1:42 AM

Leave a Reply

